The 2016 Old Bedfordian Golfing Society Autumn Meeting and AGM was held for the second time at The Bedfordshire Golf Club, which thankfully allowed the members of the OBGS to follow a now well-trodden path and meant none went to the wrong course or wrong tee this year!

As before, not being able to get onto the main course until the afternoon meant a reversal of the usual format; the morning was eclectic foursomes on the par three course with the singles played on the main course in the afternoon. Alas, following a group of three lady beginners meant all 12 morning players on one hole at one point (pictured) and a staggeringly painful end to the front nine.

Iain Pratt (83-93) continued his seemingly unquenchable thirst for crystal by winning again, this time teaming up with Andrew Rudkin (64-69) who played really rather well considering he’d had his customary golf shoes pinched from the changing room not half an hour earlier.

The AGM was held over a delicious lunch of pate, pork tenderloin and cheesecake. The President, despite his attempts to vacate the post months earlier which were duly rebuffed, was re-elected, as was the Captain, Vice-Captain and Secretary, the latter’s protesting of his impending move to Scotland making the role that bit more difficult falling on deaf ears. The Secretary provided a summary of the year’s fixtures and reported the sound financial standing of the Club, with particular mention made to Robin Maris (48-60) for successfully standing in at the Grafton Morrish qualifier in May at very late notice. Feeling suitably refreshed, Roger Lawson (59-63) less so having arrived mid-way through lunch having spent four hours in the car driving up from London, the players took to the main course for the afternoon singles.

Roger Lawson kept the Senior Trophy in the family following his brother’s win the year before with a round of 32 stableford points, whilst Oli Nicholas (97-02) repeated his feat of the previous year by picking up the Junior Trophy again, albeit this time with a slightly less impressive 30 points. Dan Mules (86-96) found some form to shoot 74 to claim the Scratch Trophy from Tom Langley-Poole (96-06) whilst Andrew Rudkin, clearly now liking his new pair of golf shoes, romped home in Gross 76 net 64 to claim the Medal Trophy by five shots. Next year’s meeting returns to Sheringham Golf Club in North Norfolk.

The following attended the day: Simon Kimber (Captain, 58-65), Tom Langley-Poole (Vice-Captain and Secretary, 96-06), Adam Foster (83-88), Colin Beesley (90-98), Charles Constable (72-81), Patrick Duke (66-70), Ben Dunlop (12-14), Brian Gillett (75-83), Roger Lawson (59-63), Tom Miles (96-05), Dan Mules (86-96), Richard Mitchell (77-87), Iain Pratt (83-93), Oli Nicholas (97-02) and Andrew Rudkin (64-69).

Back to all news