Over the course of OB Cricket Week, the OB Cricket Club took part in their annual matches against other local teams and the School. The OB Cricket Club’s AGM also took place on the Friday, alongside the traditional BBQ and beers, and was followed by the annual OBCC Lunch. Held in the marquee by the Langham Pavilion, the Lunch was an excellent event which embraced 44 School and OB cricketers, as well as a number of other guests.

OB Cricket Club v MCC

In traditional style
the MCC, captained by our own Will Notley 
(92-03) and featuring fellow OBs, Tim Chapman (88-98) and Ed Wharton (07-12), opted to bat first on the opening day of OB Week. A very long
and tidy spell from our opening bowlers saw the scoring rate very low and the
opposition a couple of wickets down. The OBs maintained an impressive over rate
throughout with the spin of Paddy McDuell (04-15) combining well with some genuine pace
from Ash Patel (06-11). The MCC innings never really got going and by the time the
gentle off spin of the OB’s captain had removed Wharton and Chapman it was all
over – we were set only about 170 to win at a gentle run rate.

Sam Kumar (99-10) and Ash Patel were the stars of the show and the result never really looked in doubt despite the early loss of Jake Duxbury (11-16), making his debut for the OBs. 

In the end it was a comfortable win and a great way for us to start the week.

Charlie Wren (95-06)

OB Cricket Club v 1st XI

The annual 2-day game between the Old Bedfordians and the School was once again a fantastic run feast on an excellent batting track that saw the School claim victory inside the final hour of play. Having decided to bowl first the OBs took a while to get into their stride as School opener James Duxbury scored an excellent hundred to allow them to declare on 321/7. In reply the OBs batted positively before declaring 55 behind on 266/6 dec thanks largely to 114 from Charlie Thurston (07-14).

Some tired bowling and fielding from the OBs allowed the School plenty of time to score 254/7 dec and set the OBs 310 to win in just under 50 overs. Despite a strong start taking them to 132/2 with 68 for Will Notley (92-03), the left arm chinaman Shiv Jhala (14-16) proved too much for the OBs who were bowled out for 206.

The OBCC’s team was made up of: Will Aitkenhead (04-09), Harry Aitkenhead (06-12), Charlie Wren (95-06), Sebastian Wren (02-12), Will Notley (92-03), Peter Sowerby (74-85), Alexander Axon (09-14), Tom Bradbeer (11-15), Patrick McDuell (04-15), Charlie Thurston (07-14) and Samuel Kumar (99-10).

Will Aitkenhead (04-09)

OB Cricket Club v 2nd XI

A slightly depleted OB 2nd XI (IX) took on their School counterparts in a 35 over a side game that turned out to be a classic. After a brief discussion having lost the toss, it was decided the OBs would bat first on a characteristically flat 2nd XI pitch.

With Jack Cook (98-09) losing his middle stump early, Christian Davis (00-11) came to the crease and quickly showed his class in blasting 130 runs from just fifty balls. Owing greatly to Christian – the OBs ended up with a total of 260 from their 35 overs which was presumed enough.

Following a blistering opening spell from Alex Kovacevic (96-02) the School XI began to settle down into their partnerships at the crease. Despite always being behind the rate, some great lower order hitting, coupled with some rather helpful bowling from Henry Banks (01-11) meant a school win was on the cards. Needing effectively a run a ball for the last 4 overs; Jack Cook (98-09) and James Skirrow’s (09-14) tight bowling left the school needing 3 runs to win off the final ball of the match. Dispatching Skirrow’s final delivery to long on, the batmen turned for the second run required to tie the game… only for Michael Holroyd (10-15) to gather the ball and launch a perfect throw to the bowler’s end, where Skirrow removed the bails to guarantee a fantastic OB victory!

The OBCC’s team was made up of: Jack Morecroft (07-12), Thomas Turner (93-03), James Skirrow (09-14), Alex Kovacevic (96-02), Jack Cook (98-09), Christian Davis (00-11), John Holroyd (11-16), Michael Holroyd (10-15), Henry Banks (01-11), plus a couple of current boys!

Jack Morecroft (07-12)

Back to all news